Standard Authentication Mode
If the password database is in the Standard mode, all users share the
same password. This means that any user can easily log on to the
database using another username. In this case, no real authentication
and privilege management is provided (you still have to know the
password if you want to log in, but if you know it, you can log on using
any username including Administrator).
This mode is preferred if you want the database to keep individual
settings for each user, but do not need any advanced facilities such as
privileges and folder permissions. Thus, the Standard mode is ideal for
individual home use or for use in small groups if it is not required to
manage user privileges.
Settings stored in the database on a per-user basis include:
- Item list settings (sorting, columns)
- Folder tree settings (font, text, icons)
- Dialog settings (Password generator, Search and some others)
Changing database password
While in the standard mode, all users the same password (called Master
Password) to authenticate themselves to the database. To change this
password, select any user in the table and invoke the context menu by
clicking the right mouse button. In the context menu select Set Master
Password to display the Set Master Password dialog. Alternatively, you
can select File->Set Master Password in the main menu.
Type the current password (if any), and the password you want to set
for the database, and press
Please wait a few moments while the new password is applied (The
progress bar will appear in the right bottom part of the window).
By default, a newly created database is set into the Standard
authentication mode. In order to switch from the Standard into Advanced
authentication mode, proceed to the User Management dialog by selecting
File->User Management in the main menu.
Switch to Advanced Mode and answer Yes to the confirmation window.
Please note that the process of switching will require rebuilding of the
database so it is recommended to backup the database before switching.
When the database is converted to use the Advanced authentication mode,
all users are assigned the master password. Thus, they still have the
same passwords, but now the passwords can be changed on a per-user
To perform reverse switching, from the Advanced to Standard mode, press
to Standard Mode and answer Yes to the confirmation dialog. Again, it is
recommended to backup the database before switching.
Note: all passwords will be removed and “empty” password will be
set for all users.
If the password database is in the Advanced authentication mode, each
user logs on to the database with his or her own password. In this mode,
the database provides privilege management facilities. This means that
you can assign privileges to users on a per-user basis. Thus, you can
deny some users to change the database, some users – to add new items
and so on.
You can change user privileges either when adding a new user, or when
changing the properties of the existing user. In both cases, the
following window will appear:
You can set the following permissions for the user:
Read Data – the user will be allowed to view items in the database. This
permission is assigned to all users (it makes no sense to add a new user
if you don’t want him or her to view the database)
Update Data – the user will be allowed to edit existing items.
Insert Data – the user will be allowed to add new items to the database
Delete Data – the user will be allowed to delete items from the database
Print – the user will be able to print items from the database
Administrator – the user is Administrator and can create or delete users
and change their passwords.
User cannot change password – the user will not be allowed to change his
or her password
Account is disabled – this user account is suspended and will not be
shown in the user list when logging.
Folder Permissions is a powerful feature of AES Password Manager allows
you to deny access to some folders (or even hide them) on a per-user
basis. You must have Administrator privileges to access Folder
Select the user you want to set folder permissions for, and open the
context menu by clicking the right mouse button. Select Permissions for
Folders in the context menu to bring the following dialog:
The tree of all folders in the database is displayed. To deny the
selected user access to a folder, uncheck it in the tree.
Now, the user will have these folders displayed with a special icon:
If the user tries to access the folder (e.g. view an item or add a new
one), the following message will be displayed:
If you also check the Hide Data box, the user will not be able to even
view the contents of the folders that you denied access to.
Changing user password
In the advanced authentication mode each user has its own password. To
change your password, select File->Change User Password in the main
menu. Alternatively, click on the corresponding row in the User
Management dialog using the right mouse button and select Change User
Password in the context menu. Enter the old password, the new password
and the confirmation in the corresponding field and press
complete the procedure.
To perform reverse switching, from the Advanced to Standard mode,
Switch to Standard Mode and answer Yes to the confirmation dialog.
Again, it is recommended to backup the database before switching.
all passwords will be removed and “empty” password will be set for all